Welcome to the Montana State University 2020 field day season! We realize that this year looks different than most, and we wish we could be meeting with all of you in person at our seven research centers.

However, we wanted to take this opportunity to improve our virtual presence and add to our repertoire of agricultural programming! We hope to continue to incorporate virtual elements into our field days in future years, and we hope you enjoy this virtual content from each of our centers across the state. 

Below you will find welcome videos from MSU president Waded Cruzado, Agriculture Dean and Director Sreekala Bajwa and Department of Research Centers Head Darrin Boss. In the drop-down menus below, you can navigate our virtual programming by topic.


 

 


On Thursday, July 30, we hosted a live field day event partnered with our friends at Montana PBS. The event was moderated by Department of Research Centers Head Darrin Boss. The program included the speakers and topics in the agenda below. A recorded version of that program will be available soon. 

Time

Topic

Speaker(s)

9 - 10 a.m. Soil Microbiomes, Crop Pathology, Soils Jed Eberly, Frankie Crutcher, Clain Jones
10 - 11 a.m. Sugar Beets, Crop Rotation, Alternative Crops, Water Use Chengci Chen, Kent McVay, Jessica Torrion, Peggy Lamb
11 a.m. - 12 p.m. Pulses, Weeds, Organic Production, Horticulture Perry Miller, Pat Carr, Kevin McPhee, Zach Miller, Abiya Saeed
12 p.m. - 1 p.m. Break  
1 - 2 p.m. Livestock, Forages, Cover Crops Jessica Torrion, Sam Wyffels, Pat Carr, Tim Seipel, Brent Roeder
2 - 3 p.m. Entomology, Variety Development - Barley, Wheat, Durum David Weaver, Jamie Sherman, Mike Giroux, Phil Bruckner, Jason Cook

 


 

Dr. Clint Beiermann

Assistant Professor- Cropping Systems Agronomist
Northwestern Agricultural Research Center
406-755-4303
clint.beiermann@montana.edu 

Jim Berg

Research Associate - Winter Wheat
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
406-994-5059
jeberg@montana.edu 

Dr. Darrin Boss

Department of Research Centers Department Head
Northern Agricultural Research Center Superintendent
406-265-6115
dboss@montana.edu 

Grayson Briney

Feedlot Coordinator Livestock 
Northern Agricultural Research Center
406-265-6115
grayson.briney@montana.edu  

Dr. Phil Bruckner

Professor
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
406-994-5127
bruckner@montana.edu 

Dr. Mary E. Burrows

Extension Plant Pathology Specialist
Department of Plant Sciences and Plant Pathology
406-994-7766
mburrows@montana.edu 

Dr. Pat Carr

Superintendent
Associate Professor - Cropping Systems
Central Agricultural Research Center
406-423-5421
patrick.carr@montana.edu 

Dr. Chengci Chen            

Superintendent
Cropping Systems Agronomist
Eastern Agricultural Research Center
406-433-2208
cchen@montana.edu     

Dr. Jason Cook

Assistant Research Professor
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
406-994-7201
jason.cook3@montana.edu 

Dr. Frankie Crutcher

Assistant Professor - Plant Pathology
Eastern Agricultural Research Center
406-433-2208
frankie.crutcher@montana.edu 

Julia Dafoe

Research Associate – Animal Science
Northern Agricultural Research Center
406-265-6115

 

Laissa Cavallini dos Santos

M.S. Candidate – Entomology
Land Resources and Environmental Sciences
l.cavallinidossantos@montana.edu  

Dr. Jed Eberly

Assistant Professor - Agronomy and Soil Microbiology
Central Agricultural Research Center
406-423-5421
jed.eberly@montana.edu  

Lochlin Ermatinger

M.S. Candidate
Land Resources and Environmental Sciences
lochlin.ermatinger@student.montana.edu  

Bill Franck

Research Scientist - Eastern Agricultural Research Center
406-433-2208
william.franck@montana.edu    

Dave Gettel

Farm Operations Manager
AES Director's Office
Arthur H. Post Research Farm Post Farm
406-586-6819
dave.gettel@montana.edu 

Dr. Mike Giroux

Professor
Department Head
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
406-994-7877
mgiroux@montana.edu 

Eleri Haney

Research Associate - Variety Testing  
Northern Agricultural Research Center
406-265-6115
eleri.haney@montana.edu  

Hwa-Young Heo

Research Scientist - Spring Wheat Breeding
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology  
406-994-5059
hwayoung@montana.edu  

Andy Hogg

Research Associate
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
406-994-1876
ahogg@montana.edu 

Doug Holen

MSU Foundation Seed Program Manager
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
406-994-5687
douglas.holen@montana.edu 

Joe Jensen
PhD Candidate - Malt Quality and Genetics
josephjensen4@montana.edu

Dr. Clain Jones

Professor
Land Resources & Environmental Sciences
406-994-6076
clainj@montana.edu  

Qasim Kahn

Research Scientist
Southern Agricultural Research Center
406-348-3400
qkhan@montana.edu 

Dr. Ken Kephart

Superintendent
Associate Professor Agronomy
Southern Agricultural Research Center
406-348-3400
kephart@montana.edu  

Joseph Kibiwot

Ph.D. Candidate
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
406-994-5147
josephkibiwott@montana.edu  

Samuel Koeshall

Ph.D. Candidate
Ecology & Environmental Sciences
samuel.koeshall@student.montana.edu    

Peggy Lamb

Research Scientist - Variety Testing  
Northern Agricultural Research Center
406-265-6115
plamb@montana.edu  

Dr. Rachel Leisso

Assistant Professor - Horticulture
Western Agricultural Research Center
406-961-3025
rachel.leisso@montana.edu 

Greg Lutgen
Field/Seed Lab Manager
gregory.lutgen@montana.edu

Dr. Jane Mangold

Professor
Extension Agriculture and Natural Resources
Land Resources & Environmental Sciences
406-994-5513
jane.mangold@montana.edu 

Cole McCann

Livestock Operations Manager
Northern Agricultural Research Center
406-265-6115

cole.mccann@montana.edu

Kyla McNamara

Research Associate - Variety Testing  
Northern Agricultural Research Center
406-265-6115
kyla.mcnamara@montana.edu 

Dr. Kevin McPhee

Professor
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
406-994-5156
kevin.mcphee@montana.edu  

Dr. Kent McVay

Cropping Systems Specialist-PhD
Southern Agricultural Research Center
406-348-3400
kmcvay@montana.edu  

Dr. Perry Miller

Professor
Land Resources & Environmental Sciences
406-994-5431
pmiller@montana.edu 

Dr. Zach Miller

Associate Professor - Horticulture
Superintendent
Western Agricultural Research Center
406-961-3025
zachariah.miller@montana.edu  

Dr. Abi Saeed

Associate Professor/Extension Specialist
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
406-994-6523
abiya.saeed@montana.edu 

Dr. Carla Sanford

Assistant Professor
Extension Beef Cattle Specialist
406-994-3454
carla.sanford@montana.edu 

Dr. Tim Seipel

Assistant Research Professor
Land Resources & Environmental Sciences
406-994-4783
timothy.seipel@montana.edu  

Dr. Lovreet Shergill

Assistant Professor - Weed Science
406-348-3400
lovreet.shergill@montana.edu  

Dr. Jamie Sherman

Barley Program Director
406-994-5055
jsherman@montana.edu  

Apurba Sutradhar

Post-Doctoral Research Associate
Eastern Agricultural Research Center
406-433-2208
apurba.sutradhar@montana.edu     

Dr. Jessica Torrion

Associate Professor - Crop Physiology
Superintendent
Northwestern Agricultural Research Center
406-755-4303
jessica.torrion@montana.edu 

Dr. Megan Van Emon

Associate Professor
Extension Beef Cattle Specialist
406-874-8286
megan.vanemon@montana.edu 

Justin Vetch

Ph.D. Candidate
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
406-249-9276
justin.vetch1@montana.edu 

David Weaver

Professor
Wheat Stem Sawfly Laboratory
Land Resources & Environmental Sciences
406-994-7608
weaver@montana.edu  

Jessica Williams

MS Candidate
Barley Breeding Program - Rooting
jessicalwill@gmail.com  

Dr. Sam Wyffels

Assistant Research Professor
samwyffels@montana.edu  


Research Center Contact Information

Central Ag Research Center: Pat Carr, patrick.carr@montana.edu or (406) 423-5421

Eastern Ag Research Center: Chengci Chen, cchen@montana.edu or (406) 433-2208

Northern Ag Research Center/Western Triangle Research Center: Darrin Boss, dboss@montana.edu or (406) 265-6115

Southern Ag Research Center: Ken Kephart, sarc@montana.edu or (406) 348-3400

Northwestern Ag Research Center: Jessica Torrion, jessica.torrion@montana.edu or (406) 755-4303

Western Ag Research Center: Zach Miller, zachariah.miller@montana.edu or  (406) 961-3025