The purpose of the Montana Agricultural Experiment Station (MAES) Advisory Council shall be to act in an advisory capacity in program planning matters as they relate to the research, testing and development functions of the research centers and their relationships to other cooperating agencies including the USDA-Agricultural Research Service.

Members of the local research center committees recommend prospective Council members and alternate members to the Director of the Montana Agricultural Experiment Station who makes the final appointment. Representatives from the Montana Stockgrowers Association, the Montana Grain Growers Association, and the MSU President’s Advisory Council also sit on the MAES Advisory Council. Members shall serve a term of five years with effective date of membership starting January 1. A member may not serve for more than two (2) consecutive terms. The membership includes persons who are familiar with and can effectively address issues regarding:

  • General goals and missions of the Montana Agricultural Experiment Station
  • General needs and problems of the agriculture sector of Montana
  • Specific needs and problems of agriculture of the research center or organization they represent
  • Particular concerns to the research center they represent as a result of serving on their local advisory committee

Three regular meetings of the Advisory Council will be held annually during fall, winter and summer.

Represents Position Name (First, Last) City
CARC Secretary Pam Linker Coffee Creek
EARC Member Butch Andresen Poplar
NARC Member Kurt Kammerzell Chester
WARC Member Bob Schroeder Florence
NWARC Member Markus Braaten Kalispell
SARC Member Marcus Vogel Ballentine
WTARC Member Keven Bradley Cut Bank
LARRL Chair Monty Lesh Miles City
Pres. Adv. Council Member Matt Flikkema Manhattan
MGGA Member Matt Flikkema Belgrade
MSGA Member Ryan Goodman Helena
CARET Vice-Chair Lance Juedeman Geraldine